The Institute

Board of Governors

StructureFunctionsOperating Procedures


  • Pablo Ignacio Fernández Muñiz, Regional Minister, Principado de Asturias


  • Ignacio Villaverde Fernández, President, Universidad de Oviedo
  • María Eloísa del Pino Matute, President, CSIC
  • Borja Sánchez García, Regional Minister of Science, Innovation and Universities, Principado de Asturias


  • Iván Aitor Lucas del Amo, General Manager of Innovation, Research and Digital Transformation, Principado de Asturias
  • Tania María Cedeño Benavides, General Manager of Quality, Transformation and Knowledge Management, Consejería de Salud
  • María Concepción Saavedra Rielo, Managing Director, SESPA
  • Antonio Fueyo Silva, Vice-President of Research, Universidad de Oviedo
  • Luis Hevia Panizo, Manager of Asturian Health District IV
  • Miguel del Valle Soto, President representative for Biomedical coordination, Universidad de Oviedo
  • Rosa María Sainz Menéndez, Biomedical Institutes representative, Universidad de Oviedo
  • Carlos Martín Paniceres. Manager, Transportes Integrales Sanitarios de Asturias (TRANSINSA)
  • Vanda Martins. Fundación EDP
  • Victoria Álvarez Martínez. Scientific Director, ISPA
  • María Fernández García. CSIC Delegate in Asturias
  • Jordi Pérez Tur. Deputy Coordinator of the CSIC Global Area: Life
  • Carlos Closa Montero. CSIC
  • Lina Badimón Maestro.


  • Faustino Blanco González, Director, FINBA

In accordance with Article 3.2 of ISPA’s Rules of Procedure, the functions of the Board of Governors are as follows:

  1. To ensure that ISPA’s objectives are met;
  2. To designate and terminate the Scientific Director of ISPA, as provided for in Section 4.1.2 of these Rules of Procedure;
  3. To approve ISPA’s Strategic Plan and agree on the implementation and management of its strategic courses of action;
  4. To approve ISPA’s budget and Annual Scientific Plan;
  5. To ratify the conventions and agreements that are approved by the Executive Commission and considered valuable for achieving ISPA’s aims;
  6. To approve the criteria for HR and infrastructure policies;
  7. To ratify the Scientific Director’s agreements regarding the ISPA’s applications for research personnel and infrastructure grants;
  8. To propose the acquisition, co-financing and installation or relocation of large-scale equipment to the signatories of the ISPA Articles of Agreement;
  9. To approve the ISPA Annual Report;
  10. To approve the affiliation of groups to ISPA and the separation of groups from it;
  11. To approve and monitor the Quality, Safety, Ethics and Good Practice Plan;
  12. To approve and monitor the ISPA Training Plan;
  13. To approve and monitor the ISPA Communications Plan;
  14. To monitor and control pursuit of ISPA’s strategic courses of action and objectives;
  15. Any other function that is not expressly conferred upon another ISPA body;
  16. To delegate any functions it deems appropriate to the Executive Commission, so as to optimise scientific, technical and administrative management activities related to ISPA’s operations.

Article 3.3 of ISPA’s Rules of Procedure describes how its Board of Governors operates:

  1. The Board of Governors will hold four ordinary meetings per year, without prejudice to the extraordinary meetings which will be called whenever this is deemed necessary;
  2. The meetings will be called by the chair, on the chair’s own initiative or at the request of a minimum of three members of the Board of Governors;
  3. The call to meeting will be issued by the secretary, on the instructions of the chair, with a minimum of 10 days’ notice for ordinary meetings and at least three days for extraordinary meetings, by a means that enables its receipt to be recorded. Calls to meeting will include the place, date and time of the meeting, along with the agenda;
  4. The Board of Governors will be legitimately convened when at least half of its members plus one are present or represented;
  5. Agreements will be passed by a simple majority, the chair of Board having the deciding vote in the event of a tie;
  6. A two-thirds majority will be required to pass an agreement to modify the Rules of Procedure;
  7. All members of the Board of Governors have the right to speak and vote in meetings, except the Scientific Director of ISPA, the two persons of recognised standing and the Secretary of the Board of Governors, who have the right to speak but not to vote. The Chair of the Board will have the deciding vote;
  8. The votes of the representatives of ISPA’s constituent organisations will comprise 75% of the Board of Governors’ total votes. 25% of the votes will correspond to the Principado de Asturias, 25% to the Universidad de Oviedo and 25% to FINBA. The remaining 25% will correspond to CSIC, as a research institute associated with ISPA;
  9. If new organisations are associated with ISPA, it will be the association agreement that determines how the percentage of votes is shared between the associated organisations;
  10. The vote of each organisation will be issued by one of its representatives on the Board of Governors;
  11. Minutes will be taken on the content of the meetings, which will be maintained by ISPA’s Technical Coordination Office. The secretary of the Board of Governors will be assisted in performing this function by staff from the Technical Coordination Office;
  12. The members of the Board of Governors will perform their functions without remuneration.